Finding Richard at WordPress.com

Which way did he go? Where has he been? Where is he headed? So many questions . . ..

This is HUGE for ADDers: How to Leave Work at Work (for Adults with ADHD)

‘Way back in my early adulthood, I had a start on a career as a police officer, but it didn’t pan out.  20/20 hindsight can see where ADD played a big role in that failure and/or my decision to seek a different path — however you want to look at it.

I did OK when I was single and free to live for ” THE JOB .”  Things started to unravel once I got married and I needed to split my attention between conflicting areas of responsibility.  You can’t be married only during the “off hours,” no matter *HOW* important your job is.  Worse yet, I had a hard time “taking off THE JOB” at the end of my shifts.   This caused me to be pretty rigid at home.   Not the best mental posture for a husband and father.  I finally left police work and pursued other work, but by then the damage was done and that marriage did not survive.

ADHDmanagement.com Blog: How to Leave Work at Work (for Adults with ADHD).

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “This is HUGE for ADDers: How to Leave Work at Work (for Adults with ADHD)

  1. I hope you will write more on adhd I have a 21 year old son and 10 year old who have adhd.

Leave a Reply

